The 2023 AMCA British Motocross Championships kick-off this weekend with a new class format which will now see it also incorporate the BWMA (British Women’s Motocross Association) series. This year’s action starts with a two day bash in the sand at Fatcat Motoparc, Yorkshire, before another couple of double headers at Brookthorpe and Lower Drayton. From there onwards the series reverts to one day meetings, finally concluding at Bromsberrow in September.

In a new Open class which replaces MX1 there’s going to be a mixture of all capacity machines. The early entry list suggests that 2022 season long title contenders James Dodd, returning to join the FUS team, and arch rival Josh Waterman will more than likely be chasing top honours yet again! They are joined by the likes of Ray Rowson, Will Hughes, Aaron Patstone, Sean Wainwright and the Apex GasGas UK duo of Adam Wells and the fast Henry Williams, moving up from the MX2 division. Also in this group are Richard Cannings, Luke Meredith, Clinton Barrs and Tye Barrs, all making a very welcome return to the AMCA Championship.

After scoring back to back AMCA MX2 titles, Welsh wonder Shane Carless will be looking to make it a treble which would incredibly be his fifth consecutive total crowns won! Shane though looks like he is going to face some very tasty opposition in the form of Nev Bradshaw, Tommy Alba, Jake Preston, Corey Hockey, Zac Stealey, Lee Truman, Mark Young, Rory Jones, Jordan Wright and Liam Gale amongst others.

In what is sure to be another hot season of 125cc action, the 2022 AMCA Championship silver and bronze medalists Luke Dean and Chris Povey both start again and should be at the sharp end of proceedings as the season unfolds. Other names to look out for include Matt and Jordan Ridgway, Cameron Jackson, Yarin Evans, Harry Linton and Luke Newman. Coming into the series and looking like potential top runners are Damon Strydom and the very fast, young  pilot Charlie Palmer. If your’e also looking for a potential spoiler in this one then how about former double 125cc AMCA Champion Jack Cox, making a serious racing return!

Early standout names in the Veterans entry list are the Lane brothers, James and Simon, both former AMCA Champions. Also in the mix should be regular top ten finishers Brian Staples, Ste Marlow, Anthony Bennett, Richard Tudor and Matt Chaplin. In this class another former Champion Matt Ryder will be making a welcome return along with Rich Meakin, certainly a rider who could be a major spoiler in the race for glory if he can quickly get back into the racing groove!

The Youth 85cc class also incorporates the BWMA Girls 85cc competition. In the girls group there’s going to be a new Champion crowned as the 2022 victor Hollie Roberts has moved up into the main Ladies contest. From last year, Leah Rees-Evans, Checoby Rainey, Holly Williams, Erin Howes, Sophie Jones and Poppy Banning all go again in the battle for top honours. Representing the lads, 2022 runner-up Sebby Moore should start as one of the favourites with Oakley Kettle and Oliver Bebb likely to be serious challengers.

Finally in another combined, new class, the BWMA Women’s Championship runs alongside the Youth 125cc series. As already mentioned in the main Ladies class, 2022 Girls 85cc winner Hollie Roberts moves up to try her luck. Topping the entry in this one though is the 2022 Elite class runner-up Rheanna Morgan-Rogers along with Amber McGregor and Caitlin Newman. They are also joined by the top three in the National Ladies class, Autumn Jenkinson, India Hodgkinson and Naomi Dolby. With the 2022 Elite Ladies winner Roma Edwards and previous title holder Chelsea Gowland not competing this year, it does mean that in 2023 a new Champion will be crowned. As regards the 125cc Youth lads who will be racing alongside the fast females, watch out for 2022 AMCA Youth 85cc Champion Jack Evans, Will Turner and Wyatt McGregor.

So the scene is set for the 2023 series to commence. Why not get along this Saturday and Sunday to the Fatcat Motoparc, DN3 3EH which is located just off junction 4 of the M18 and witness for yourself who will be claiming the early honours in the race for the AMCA and BWMA titles!! 

Words and Images by Mike Wood